WHAT IS A NON-DAIRY CREAMER

Please follow and like us:
RSS
Facebook
Google+
http://www.sipscoffeehouse.com/what-is-a-non-dairy-creamer/
Twitter
SHARE
Credit by theplantbasedrunner.wordpress.com

Do you include a coffee lovers who used creamer as a mixture of tea and coffee to create a fuller flavor? Do you know if your mainstay creamer is made from corn oil or soybean oil? The addition of creamers to coffee is the choice of many people as the most popular doping to open the day. Although the creamers have the same function as liquid milk, but actually both have significant differences. Liquid milk is actually made from natural milk, while the creamer is made from vegetable material so called non-dairy creamer.
Non-dairy creamer is referred to as artificial creamer because it is made on the basis of the ingredients of vegetable oil, protein, stabilizer, emulsifier which is combined into a solution and then dried by spray dryer. Spray drying is a process of change in which the liquid material to form dry particles in the form of flour or granules by a process of spraying the material into hot air. The advantages possessed by other non-dairy creamer include longer shelf life, ease of storage, easy distribution and handling, and non-dairy creamer is also called lactose free creamer for coffee because it is safe to use for people who are lactose intolerant, because they are made from vegetable fats that are not containing lactose.

Most non-dairy creamer is suitable for those who are lactose intolerant. However, some of them contain sodium caseinate, which is a derivative of milk protein casein. There is much debate whether the addition of sodium caseinate creamer will remove the ‘milk’ element or not, because it is a simple form of casein. Based on the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) decision claiming that sodium caseinate can not be considered a dairy product, it passes several processes before addition, resulting in structural changes that make it non-dairy. The producers of non-dairy creamer will usually use a number of ingredients that can mimic the texture, flavor, and taste of real milk. Although the variant of no-milk creamers varies, the basic ingredients used generally consist of the following.

1. Sodium Caseinate
Sodium caseinate is a derivative of milk protein casein, commonly used to increase the taste of milk. Casein makes almost 20% protein in milk-sodium caseinate. This is due to the reaction between acid casein, and sodium hydroxide. The content of Sodium caseinate is actually the reason for some vegans not to use such cream-there are soybean based creamers that form an option for those with such restrictions.

2. Carrageenan
This material is a kind of seaweed, used as a stabilizer, and an emulsifier which prevents the separation of finished product components. Carrageenans are a type of polysaccharide, which is often also used as a vegetarian replacement for gelatin, as well as thickening substances, due to their ability to form gel at room temperature.

3. Hydrogenated Oils
Although there are some non-dairy-non-fat creamers, most use hydrogenated fats to embed the rich, creamy texture character of the milk. Hydrogenated vegetable fats and oils include cottonseed oil, palm oil, and soybean oil. Some creamer may also contain mono and diglycerides to add more cream and texture.

4. Natural and Artificial Flavor Additives
This material is in addition to the foods used to enhance palatability. Some of these products also offer flavored creamers such as French vanilla, pecan, and others — these contain other extracts that contribute to each flavor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *